The SMILE SWT#18 and Consortium #12 Video meeting Held


12-15 October 2021, the SMILE (Solar Wind Magnetosphere Ionosphere Link Explorer) Mission 18th Scientific Working Team (SWT) and 12th Joint Meeting was held successfully. The conference adopted the participants in each country and region in accordance with the specific situation by video participation.
The meeting was co-chaired by Wang Chi, chief scientist of China, Professor Graziella Branduardi-Raymont, chief scientist of the European Party and Philippe Escoubet, project scientist at the European Space Agency (ESA). Scientists from the United Kingdom, Canada, Austria, Belgium, the United States of America, Brazil, Czech Republic, Japan, ESA and China, as well as engineering team, satellite system, payload system, ground support system and scientific application system, the ESTEC team and other relevant personnel more than 80 people attended the meeting.
According to the agenda, the 12th was the Modeling Working Group (MWG) #28 meeting. It included 9 reports covering topics such as magnetosheath and magnetopause models, simulating soft X-ray image from different models, deriving the magnetopause position from X-ray image, etc. The 13-14th was the SWT #18 and Joint Meeting #12 meeting. There were 25 reports, including engineering advances and some related academic results. The 15th was the Data Format and Calibration Working Group meeting. The data transfer interface software was discussed.
This video conference has achieved the purpose of communication progress. After the Canadian Space Agency dropout from the development of the SMILE Ultra-Violet Imager (UVI), the Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS) is mainly responsible for UVI. ESA and CAS will work together to promote the development of the UVI and make sure the scientific objectives and its launch time are not affected.
SWT#19 and consortium #13 meeting will be held in Yunnan province China, during May 2022 if there is no constrains for travel.